“I rejoice because I am blessed”

1 Peter 4:12-14

No one can say worshiping God while hell is breaking loose is easy. As a matter of fact, our worship can only be stronger when placed in trials. Peter tells us in these verses to rejoice when we are put in trials, since it is when you rejoice in sufferings for Christ’s sake that God is revealed. (v.13) Something that we must understand is that God will never put you in a trial where His revelation cannot be implanted in your life. In every trial, there is always a revelation. Now verse 14, is where we need to focus. Peter said that if we are insulted for the name of Christ, we are blessed. My question is, how can we be blessed when we are scarred by our enemies? How am I blessed when I am in pain? The book of Galatians chapter 2:20 says, “I have now been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” Connecting this verse with the 14th verse of 1 Peter chapter 4, Peter simply meant that while we are being insulted and reproached by our enemies, we are blessed with the fact that everything that the enemy throws at you falls on Christ who is in you. The amazing thing about Christ is the fact that He takes those insults from your enemies and reveals Himself even more. You rejoice with the fact that you are blessed because Christ is taking your trials and using it as an opportunity to be revealed in you. That is why my friend, “we rejoice because we are blessed.”

“As the tree is fertilized by its own broken branches and fallen leaves, and grows out of its own decay, so men and nations are bettered and improved by trial, and refined out of broken hopes and blighted expectations.” – Frederick W. Robertson

“God will never place you in a trial, where He cannot reveal Himself.” – Alberto Santiago

Leave a Reply

